Loading...
Len HorowitzFrom: Len Horowitz <len.horowitz@yahoo.com> Sent: Wednesday, April 7, 2021 8:12:16 AM To: Torre <torre@cityofaspen.com>; Ann Mullins <Ann.Mullins@cityofaspen.com>; Ward Hauenstein <ward.hauenstein@cityofaspen.com>; Rachael Richards <rachael.richards@cityofaspen.com>; Skippy Mesirow <skippy.mesirow@cityofaspen.com>; Nicole Henning <nicole.henning@cityofaspen.com> Subject: 1020 E Cooper Call Up - it's a matter of Integrity   Last year, City Council called up a project at 1020 E Cooper for a large, single family residence to be built on the historic property. City Council remanded the project back to the HPC because the mass / scale of the addition was out of proportion to the historic property.  From the meeting minutes....  Councilwoman Richards - "one of the major issues for her is the height of the addition gable because it seems out of proportion."  Councilman Mesirow - "he doesn't feel the scale and character are being preserved."  Mayor Torre - "the fence and tree aren't the real issues at hand and he will remand it back to the HPC."   Now a new 1020 Cooper project is coming up to appeal at City Council and it is even *bigger* than the project mentioned above. Do the rules suddenly change because Defrancia and BendonAdams are behind the new project? or will council maintain integrity and rule the mass and scale of this effort clearly violate the HPC guidelines?